MY LOVE IS LIKE WHOAH – 5 Lessons I Have Learnt in Love

It’s funny how I am single, and yet my concept of love changes every day.

Life is strangely wonderful, and the people that it presents me with are sometimes strange but mostly wonderful too.

Here are 5 things that I have learnt lately about love – because just when I think the lessons in love are done, I realize that they have barely begun.

1) LOVE HURTS
I haven’t really been emotionally hurt by any men recently, but I realized that other types of love can also hurt. This love could be anything to do with family, friends, or even someone that I don’t know – I sometimes find myself falling in non-romantic love with the poor auntie who sells tissue paper, or the skinny old uncle who gives out flyers on the street that no one wants to take. Do you know that they only get paid like S$5 to stand there for hours under the hot sun, or possibly longer if you refuse to take their flyers? I strangely find myself loving them, and it hurts.

2) LOVE IS PURE
Love is pure, love is patient, love is kind. Love is eternal, unconditional, not circumstantial, it does not deceive, and this is what I believe.

3) LOVE YOUR ENEMY, LOVE THE UNLOVELY
The hardest thing that I had to do last week, is try to love someone who I think absolutely didn’t deserve it. I realized that I couldn’t do this out of the love of my own heart, but I could only forgive and love this unlovely woman through the supernatural love of God. (Yes, she upset me that much.)

4) LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR
Okay, so the bible did not really mean “neighbor” literally as “the-guy-next-door”, but I believe it means to love people without judgement. To simply love others the way Jesus first loved us.

5) LOVE IS LIKE A ROLLERCOASTER…
Fun – until you realize you left your heart behind. Exhilarating – but it has to end. Sometimes, you feel like throwing up. Maybe, you might lose your head or your wallet.

Is this rollercoaster really worth the ride?
.
.
.
You tell me. What are some other lessons in love you have learnt?

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Show Me Some Love

