The Social Network

Just as I was about to delete my Facebook account, Hollywood makes a movie about it (Facebook). Is this a sign that I should or that I shouldn’t?!

2005: I started my Facebook account sometime in 2003 when I was in living in college in Australia, purely to connect with my college friends who were American.
At that time, it was a pre-requisite to sign up for Facebook with an official collegiate email.
This was, much later, further expanded/diluted to include users who did not have to sign up with a college email address.
2006 – 2010: Now, almost ANYONE with an email account can sign up for a Facebook account. Thank goodness they tightened their privacy settings!

Technology thoughts
I am very social, and pro-social media.
I can discuss it professionally with technologists and entrepreneurs here – and in fact I already have, many times this year.
The ripple effect of its global presence ie influence, social media marketing, perhaps even online dating…
So much potential, monetize the damn thing already!
I have always been fascinated with how it has changed my lifestyle and culture, and have carefully watched and learnt…
As people around me use and abuse it; even get burnt.

Movie: The Social Network
“You can’t get to 500 million friends, without making a few enemies”
Watch the trailer here.


Photo credit: nerdiest-kids.com

In university, I have done a few assignments focused around the dynamics of social networks. Friendster, MySpace, MatchMaker.com.au, Hi5, etc you name it all – I’ve read (or written) something about it.
Well I cannot write a review on a movie I have not seen, so all it is for now is looking forward to what will be a very interesting and informative movie.

Coming soon to a box office near you
(Release date: 28th Oct 2010)

Fun facts about Facebook:
– Mark Zuckerberg may have been the face of Facebook, but did you know the other half of the story – Eduardo Saverin?
– At that time when Mark and Eduardo were working on developing it together, it was named “The Facebook”. The ‘the’ was later dropped.
– An average person loses 23.3 hours per week on Facebook. Some of us even more… (I know a few, I won’t mention who! ;-X Haha!)

Need something to do until then? Eduardo Saverin is in Singapore. Add him here or “Like” Eduardo Saverin’s Facebook Page to read more.

**********************
Oh and while we’re on the topic… Guess what, I finally did it…

I added my parents on Facebook.

Guess what else…

I didn’t limit any part of my profile. Yes, I love them that much and have nothing to hide (they know all my flaws already)… I’m willing to prove it!

See evidence: I think someone coined the term “You made a deal with the devil?” Lol!


(No devil here – just lots of lovin’!)

**********************

  • Dear friends, I know I owe many of you many photos from the F1 weekend – it’s been a really mad 2 weeks but I promise to get to them soon! I love my understanding friends 😀
  • Advertisements

    4 thoughts on “The Social Network

    1. I thought about deleting my facebook account too!! Sometimes it’s just too much information. I’ve deactivated it in the past – I think that’s better than deleting because you can always re-activate when you want, without having to go and find all your friends again.

      Btw the message to your mummy is too cute 😉

      • I know right! The power of social media can be a bit overwhelming. Scary!! Have you deactivated your account many times? And it goes back to status quo?

        De-activating is easy, I might think about doing that next time… PS: I love my Mommy ;-D

    2. Pingback: A subjective sneak peek: The Social Network (Don’t read the spoiler parts if you are planning to watch it and don’t want to ruin it!) « Estelle 101: Lessons in Love

    Show Me Some Love

    