There is a wild bear loose and running around my small concrete jungle of a country

… Or maybe not.

Ok I really want to post many pictures that I owe many friends, but my obsessive/compulsive interest with social media is taking over the keyboard!!

Background:
If you have not heard already, Electronics giant Philips circulated a 10-second video of a bear rummaging through a garbage bin in a secluded part of Singapore. The nearby forestation, natural darkness of the night, together with the the low-quality appearance of the mobile-phone video, makes it believable.

Read AsiaOne’s report on the story here: “Philips in trouble for Singapore bear hoax”

Watch the video and have a look for yourself.

Part of a guerrilla marketing campaign – meaning a slightly more modernized marketing campaign that utilizes energy, effort, or imagination as opposed to financial resources – the video’s aim was to create a social media buzz through social networks (i.e. Facebook) and blogs (yes, I guess I am gratifying their goals a little).

(Only) One out of my WXYZ number of friends posted this on Facebook today and I’m honestly quite surprised (and disappointed) that I have not heard about this at all until now.

WHY!?

I want to jump the gun and claim then that this is a ‘social media campaign fail’, but I won’t be so quick to discredit… (I believe this could have stemmed from the situation where I have moved out of my comfort zone and out of the local Singapore media arena, and into the globalized fun-filled world of IT and been dutifully distracted by its own bubble of hard-hitting news. I.e. MY BAD.)

To pull a marketing stunt like that in no-chewing-gum-and-don’t-spit-on-the-floor Singapore is very daring to say the least!
– Did the client sign the approval to go ahead with this controversial campaign? Rather, did they encourage it?
– Never mind the frazzled neighbourhood, but why not inform the authorities before the campaign to avoid misleading them (the authorities)?
– I am sure they did their due diligence and checks on the consequences of this comical campaign… Right?
– So if they did do their homework, did they conclude that the weighing scale was in favour of the chaotic consequences?

For example…
Pay S$1000 fine < Develop a marketing idea that costs $50 to create but generates x1000 more publicity than the cost price + fine

Why not?

The internet is for free, so is controversy, but if it were up to me, I would do it differently.

************************

This reminds me of a few ads that I like.

I like ads that can keep my attention.

I love sexy ads! Sex sells.

Sexy ads can also sell sex. *This is funny! Get it? Get it?*

************************

I wonder how this will all go down… Do you think the ‘Bear Scare’ guerrilla marketing campaign is genius, OR should there be a bigger fine/heavier punishment imposed?

Show Me Some Love

