Back in Singapore: A crash course of 4 playful places across familiar faces

I go out very selectively (most recently), and so here are the adventures of my friends as they attempted last week to drag me out for an evening of Clarke Quay re-discovered…

Senor Taco at Clarke Quay

One of the newer kids on the Clarke Quay block but one that also enjoys a steady stream of regulars, most of its growing popularity is assumingly attributed to their set meal.

S$19.90 gives you:
– Choice of beef burrito, or 4 mini tacos (pork/chicken/pork and chicken)
– A mexican beer (like Corona)

Not super cheap – especially for an open-concept hotdog-stand-type ambience – but I love Mexican food and some healthy competition to my Mexican favorites Magaritas & Cafe Iguana is welcome.

Senor Taco
http://www.senortaco.sg/
Clarke Quay, 3D River Valley Road #01-12

Cuba Libre at Clarke Quay

Can you believe I have never been?

Happy hour – 40% off SELECTED drinks (like magaritas and cocktails)

Yup you’re not wrong, it does say “Mount Gay Rum”.

Here are the boys enjoying some

I think my friends were trying to make a point… something along the lines of ‘I am always the odd one out’.
(Mine is the white iPhone)

Song and Ava deciding whether to have another signature drink (the one in the jar)… among other things (like ice cream)

Cuba Libre
3B River Valley Road, #01-13 Clarke Quay-Blk B (not far from that famous fountain in the middle of CQ)
6338 8982

**************************************

A Welcome-back-to-Singapore Saturday…

Brunch at PS Cafe, Dempsey

Back from Melbourne, missing the memories, running out of things to do and places to go in Singapore and craving a good breakfast, I was quite happy to get out of the house on Saturday morning!

Jx took some time out of his busy lawyer life to check out brunch at PS Cafe, Dempsey with me.

I ate: Portobello stack (Grilled tomato halves, poached egg, bacon, and a stack of 5 portobello mushrooms on yellowed toast)

He ate: Sausage-something-something

Not my first time at PS Cafe. They are very popular for their breakfasts but I was personally very disappointed – I think my food pictures look better than it tasted – we found ourselves requesting for salt.

I still like the place so here’s their details anyway –
A pretty, bustling ambience with alfresco options and one of THE ‘it’ places to go on a Sat/Sun morning… although I’m not very sure why?

PS Cafe (Dempsey branch)
http://www.pscafe.sg
28b Harding Road, Dempsey Road, Tanglin Village
For reservations (I strongly recommend!), ring 9070 8782

Now I miss Melbourne breakfasts more than ever!

Does anyone have any good brunch places to recommend in Singapore that I can try?

**************************************

Catchup Coffee + Cake with Caryn, Canele

For the record, my friend Caryn is the biggest female gym junkie I know and NEVER eats anything junk – like chocolate or MacDonalds. I don’t know how I convinced her to eat a creme brulee/vanilla piece all by herself… She must have been vulnerable. Or maybe just hungry.

I on the other hand, am quite a willing chocoholic.

Sugary smiles! I’ll work off the 1500 calories later.

Apparently we also found meringues and models!

Diego testing out the zoom function on my new camera… Test test

Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie

http://www.canele.com.sg
1 Scotts Road #B1-25 Paragon, 290 Orchard Road

One thought on “Back in Singapore: A crash course of 4 playful places across familiar faces

Show Me Some Love

