Travel Taiwan: Living la Vida LOCAL in Kaohsiung 高雄

Taiwan, renowned for a reputation of city culture, hot springs and night markets, did not seem to promise me an awful lot when I was tossing around the idea of gallivanting around Taipei for an entire week.

WHAT TO DO IN TAIWAN FOR A WEEK?

And then, my friends and I decided to live la Vida local, and visit a city a little less travelled – Kaohsiung (also spelt as Gao Xiong, or Kaohsiung).

From night to day, all we did was play… I was sleepless under the dazzle of stars in Kaohsiung.

IMG_1206

IMG_1243

This is the 2nd largest city in Taiwan next to Taipei – it does not have a night market, shopping centre or club crammed into every available square foot of the city, but it does hide other charms. Same same but different…

IMG_2824

IMG_0001

An old friend of mine from my teenage days/years in Australia is a proud Taiwanese and an even prouder Kaohsiung local.

IMG_2811

My friend Simon gave us the best local Kaohsiung experience ever.

1

Lucky me – I also had these two beautiful Taiwanese ladies as my local hosts:

2

3

My hosts mostly drove, but the Taiwanese typically journey to Kaohsiung by train (High Speed Rail can get you to K.S. in 1 and a half hours from Taipei train station), or get around by scooter.

IMG_1112

IMG_2825

IMG_0154

IMG_2954

Alright, enough scooting around.

This is my 5 sensory experience and what I loved about K-town.

IMG_1284

Sense 1) TASTE

Kaohsiung offered me tasty bits of Taiwan.

IMG_3141

IMG_2831

IMG_1487

IMG_1110

IMG_0016

IMG_2901

IMG_0240

IMG_1466

The food…

IMG_1119

… is even good when it’s from 7-11.

IMG_1120

This wasn’t so good though. I don’t like animal genatalia!

IMG_0031

Beef jerky, chicken sticks, fried pork with rice and even salmon was easy to find in and around restaurants and convenience stores. Even though Taiwan has its local favourites like stinky tofu and chicken gizzards, I loved that Taiwan had a lot of Japanese type options – just like Singapore.

IMG_0025

Sense 2) (SIGHT)SEEING

It was always good to step into some culture and re-trace the history of the place.

IMG_1546

IMG_1560

The prettiest photos can be taken during the Lotus temple run.

IMG_2835

IMG_1618

IMG_1608

IMG_1604

Of course, we never forget to have fun!

IMG_1623

Sense 3) I HEARD…

…About a special place, a landscape view, a fusion of east meets west.
You drive up a mountain, feel the wind blow in by the sea…
Walk down a slope and climb down stairs…

IMG_1708

IMG_1740

IMG_2894

And you find yourself at Escape 41.
IMG_2896

IMG_1750

IMG_1745

IMG_1724

IMG_1748

Sense 4) We also had a keen sense of SMELL for shopping, clubbing and cheap beer.

IMG_2832

IMG_3142

IMG_1446

IMG_1365

IMG_1374

IMG_1418

Clubbing pictures taken in Brickyard and Lamp.

IMG_0101

The boys play power hour in a local Japanese Beer Garden

Sense 5) THE PERSONAL TOUCH

The people in Kaohsiung were friendly, hospitable, and some even cleared their calendar to hang out with me. I felt like royalty…

IMG_1280

IMG_1277

IMG_2895

IMG_1266

IMG_0063

IMG_1384

IMG_1306.

IMG_2807

IMG_2808
.
.
.

IMG_1245

Goodnight, Kaohsiung – I hope you didn’t mind the bit of my own local flavour that I brought over.

IMG_3132
Me with my friend Glynn, one of the guys from the group I was travelling with. We are all old friends from college days in Australia.

希望再见面!

For other posts I have blogged about on Taiwan, click here.

2 thoughts on “Travel Taiwan: Living la Vida LOCAL in Kaohsiung 高雄

  1. I love the way how u designed the whole things, it looks sweet & Cuty…. what a lovely memory album…..:))

Show Me Some Love

