First Friends in America

SATURDAY NIGHT

Today, I made some new friends. It started with Roland – a 56 year old lawyer, father of four, church-goer and polite African-American gentleman. We used the Super Shuttle – the cheapest airport transport that allows you to get dropped off exactly where you need to be. It is available from almost any American airport and costs about US$25 for a one-way trip.

Roland shared my ride with me from the airport. We shared insights too. I told him about my 36 hour flight from Singapore and my grand plans for church the next morning – he looked at his Cartier watch. It was 2am. He chuckled and wished me luck.

IMG_3379

SUNDAY MORNING

I found a church online and walked 20 min to it. It started with 20 minutes of community time, the church services were half the time of that in Singapore, and the people were all of another skin colour and accent. Other than that, it was same same no different. My heart was just as happy.

IMG_3384

IMG_3388

IMG_3401

IMG_3399

I sat with a bunch of young people and they invited me to lunch after. I didn’t really feel like Mexican food, but I wanted to hang out and so along I rode with my new friend Anna to Chipotle. We chatted about China, Telok Blangah and triathalons… She may have been American, but inside we were not so different. She was well travelled, shared my passion in Jesus and interest in community work. I think she spoke Mandarin better than I did.

IMG_3404

IMG_3405

IMG_3414

IMG_3417

Seth and Sherry were really nice, they moved from Michigan and felt the area I was in was a bit uppity. I laughed, I heard the same thing from other locals too – it must ring true.

The others shared with me about frisbee golf – a really popular summertime sport where you throw a frisbee into baskets with chains. Hole in one… Sort of.

IMG_3415

IMG_3407

We also talked about paintball, plane rides and squirrels. Seth and Sherry gave me a ride to the Museum of Art.

IMG_3479

A world of culture spanning continents and eras await.

Classical – The thinker
IMG_3425

Italian – The Peruzzi Altarpiece
IMG_3499

IMG_3515

Egyptian Tomb Offering Chapel – A false door to serve as a passageway for the souls of their deceased, to travel easily from one world to the next
IMG_3525

IMG_3537

Asian art
IMG_3495

Mona Lisa thread count impression by an American artist Devorah Sperber – 5184 spools and spoof of the original Leonardo da Vinci painting
IMG_3505
IMG_3506

Modern Art
IMG_3488

IMG_3487

God’s art!
IMG_3476

Other special outdoor art
IMG_3471

IMG_3463

IMG_3466

IMG_3447

SUNDAY AFTERNOON

After the museum, I got a taxi downtown. Historic buildings mingle with modern architecture. White on black and white and black. Japanese Nissan sport cars are quiet next to the noisy rev and exhaust of horsepowered bikes. Classic American muscle cars park quietly by. For every American girl I see in a summer dress, I see a black-skinned male in a hoodie or jacket. They smile and greet each other as they pass.

IMG_3585

IMG_3586

IMG_3591

IMG_3597

IMG_3612

IMG_3617

The more I keep walking, the more I see contrasts between the old and the new.

IMG_3638

I hear the clink clank of champagne glasses and the chitter-chatter of young voices, and so my face brightens up.

I stop walking and ask for a table, away from the smokers but outside enough to enjoy the al fresco.

I sit and my eyes do the wandering, staring at the restaurant’s menu and what people around me picked… Part of the American cuisine, people around me seemed to eat tacos everyday. Mexican food is like Malay food.. It’s everywhere. I am still full from my Mexican lunch, so I swap it for a small half-pint of draft beer as my Sunday treat.

I spend the rest of the sunlight watching friends catch up, and two skinny gay guys having coffee with their chihuahua.

IMG_3628

IMG_3621

IMG_3635

IMG_3642

A bunch of young men sit nearby, and I can barely stand to hear them talk about how hungover they are. They spent two hours calling up people to join them – they come to hang out and talk about how hungover they are too. I sip and soberly swallow my beer. I guess they remind me of some friends back home.

The sun sets late and the weather is perfect. I think about my dinner plans for the evening and realize I don’t need a burrito.. I need a run.

IMG_3646

I’m currently in the US, busy with mostly work and a little bit of pleasure. I wrote this post last week while jet-lagged at a cafe sipping tea and beer, and have been meaning to finish and publish it.
Updates are a bit limited but I will post more pictures and better content when I can!
Obviously, I also have many more friends now.

2 thoughts on “First Friends in America

  1. haha love ur thinking pose!
    Also nice pic of “God’s art!”
    America looks so interesting! Hope u having lots and lots of fun! 🙂

Show Me Some Love

