Have Some Soul And Bare Your Sole 2011

This is my feet.

These feet will be put to the roadtest as I ditch my dancing shoes for a whole morning, and lend my bare feet to a very special event happening next week.

No, this is not a party, and there are no gifts I am getting – but one thing that has proven to be better than receiving, is always a simple act of giving. The idea of walking barefeet scared me a little at first – what if the ground is hot, or worse, I step on something pokey? But I have been very lucky in my life, as well as been given a bare pair of fully-functioning feet, and I am sure you have many things to be thankful for too.

Others around the world, might not have been as lucky as you and me though. Habitat for Humanity is an international non-profit organization which builds simple shelters and helps to fight poverty for the less fortunate. They believe that people of all backgrounds, races and religions deserve a decent place to live in. Let’s not turn our backs on them.

Together with financial services giant-with-a-heart Barclays, Habitat for Humanity hopes to inspire and encourage 5000 people to walk barefeet on this day, as we remember those with difficulties and without shoes.

For this very special barefeet walk, your $30 registration fee and donations/pledges will go towards Habitat for Humanity Singapore. With YOUR $$$, the help of volunteers, carry out present and future work in places such as Singapore, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam.

$30 may not be a lot to me or you, but in some of these places you could be providing a home for someone like him.

WHAT?
Habitat-Barclays Bare Your Sole 2011 barefoot walk with choices of a) 2.5km OR b) 4km.
$30 registration fee to go towards funds for Habitat for Humanity Singapore.

WHEN?
Saturday 18 June, 8AM start, 9AM flag off, and walk + activities go till about 12pm.

WHERE?
A grassy walk and picturesque setting as we walk at the all NEW Nparks venue:
Gardens by the Bay East, Tanjong Rhu. MAP here.

WHAT ELSE?
Where to meet your friends, come early to warm up/stretch and leave your pets at home! Read this info booklet and collect your goodie bag/T-shirt at SMU before the walk.

More information on their website here.

The event will also be joined by a group of inspirational walkers who are completing a
staggering 100km, 26 hour non-stop walk. We will also probably spot these walkers as they will join Bare Your Sole 2011 at the starting line and complete their 100km by walking the last 4km barefoot.

100km, wow. I don’t think I can do that. With my first barefeet walk for HFH Singapore, I will take baby steps and register myself for the 2.5km walk, dragging my family as well as a couple of friends along. I hope you will join me in this walk with a cause!

**********

Register by 16 June here. Do you dare to bare your sole for charity?

2 thoughts on “Have Some Soul And Bare Your Sole 2011

Show Me Some Love

