Suicide

I just got news that a friend of mine committed suicide, plus it is a couple of days before his birthday.

He left behind his wife and family, who are all completely shocked and shattered by the situation.

My family attended the funeral and told me afterwards about it. My mom’s face welled up as she sat on the cool terrazzo floor in our home, and recounted the incident to me. I couldn’t match her expression at first, mine was speechless and blank – From what I understand, the subject was very close to his family and had great communication, he usually confided in them about his problems and stresses in life. He had been trying to set up different new businesses for a while now, and I hear that he was stressed with work, snapped, and jumped to death.

He had a couple of arguments before the incident as well with some people who were close to him – I hope they don’t blame themselves for something that is not their fault and beyond their control. Some people blame everything from situations, to enemies, to God for suicide. My personal view is that life is a gift – it has been given to you. With this gift of life, we are given choices, and if the individual chooses to take his own life, it is of no one’s fault but of his own.

Lesson learnt: Be slow to anger, never hold grudges. Make peace with everyone and be so full of love that it overflows… now give some love away.
Seek forgiveness… but more importantly, GIVE forgiveness. Even and especially if you don’t think they deserve it.

I’m reading his Facebook wall now and everyone is wishing him happy birthday – no one talks about what happened, but it is obvious some people know and others don’t.

It just hit me.

I wished I had a chance to talk to him about the eternal love, support, and grace of God – something so incredibly better than anything that anyone else could offer in the world. With Jesus, you never have to worry about judgement, and you never have to care about condemnation. How sweet life would be to be loved by HIM!

Maybe it would have made no difference, but maybe it would have made all the difference.

My Mom looks away as I start to cry.

I’ve always known not to take those around me for granted… But today, I learnt, don’t take ANYTHING for granted.

Have you ever thought about suicide? What keeps you alive?

************
My sincerest condolences to his grieving family and anyone else who is mourning the loss of a loved one.

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit” ~Psalm 34:18

2 thoughts on “Suicide

  1. Estelle,

    Only my second visit to your site. Very well written and many topics.

    This one touched my heart.

    We are told no one knows their the time or place of their death.

    Suicide is more painful because often no one ever knows the why.

    You said it well about talking one more time with your friend.

    We do not know when that last conversation is with anyone we care for or love..

    Life is precious, a gift from the moment of conception.

    David

Show Me Some Love

