MOvember: My Mini-Mustache Dinner Party

Traipsing around Europe for a month was an incredible experience (so much to share, many more blog posts to come), and I felt rested, refreshed and ready to take on this great big world once again. Or in this case, my new job…!

BUT. Before I start slugging away for forever after, I first need some special time to hang with the family. Home is where the heart is, and all of you are welcome into my home and my heart.

Yes, it’s time to meet the parents – and parents, meet the party!

I got back to Singapore from my Europe-alone trip in early November, just in time for MOVEMBER. Movember represents a moustache growing charity event held during November each year that raises funds and awareness for men’s health around the world (kind of like the pink ribbon for breast cancer, but this is cooler).

This movement started from Melbourne, Australia, probably over a couple of beers. Now, MO bros around the world grow a mustache all month long and ask for donations from friends and family to support this global cause.

I don’t have a mustache, but I bought mini ones called ‘fingerstaches’ from London and invited friends over to celebrate it with me. It’s an European dinner party 😉

The girls cut out these little tattoo mustaches and we placed it on our fingers, see?

The boys are supposed to grow their own, but it seems that moes (Aussie slang for mustaches) were more popular/accepted when I was living in Australia. Asians just have minimal facial hair in general.

HOUSE RULE #1: FAKE IT TILL YOU MAKE IT!

REAL mustache


FAKE mustache

HOUSE RULE #2: NO ONE GOES HOME HUNGRY.

Everything is home-made with love… and with fresh produce from Spain/Italy/Switzerland/Scotland/London.







ON THE EUROPE-INSPIRED MENU:
Green apples drizzled with honey, walnuts, truffle oil and brie cheese
Pizza Napoletana and Pizza with chicken and pesto
Truffle and mushroom linguine
Spaghetti Bolognese
Truffle fries
Chicken wings
Swiss cheese and chocolate platter
Tea and Biscuits from Harrods, London
Tiramisu

DRINK:
Sangria
Belvedere Vodka
Beer
Jagermeister which kept me warm in Scotland
Wine from around the world
Freshly made Mojitos by my good friend Caryn (check out her new cocktail bar here: Barkode at Dunlop Street)

HOUSE RULE #3: STAY AS LONG AS YOU WANT… IF MY PARENTS ARE SLEEPY, WE PROCEED TO THE AFTERPARTY

Spot my dad?

Thanks for coming munchkins! It’s better to have vegetables with the ones you love, than steak with someone you hate.
Have a marvelous MOVEMBER 🙂

Article by The Straits Times on MOVEMBER here.

One thought on “MOvember: My Mini-Mustache Dinner Party

  1. Pingback: Places to Go In Singapore City

Show Me Some Love

