Christmas makeup/party look: Easy-to-do DIY 15 min Diamante Eyes (feat. Pangaea Christmas Winter Wonderland theme party)

A Cool Crystal Christmas party look: Easy-to-do DIY 15 min Diamante Eyes
(feat. Pangaea Christmas Winter Wonderland theme party)

Christmas is a celebration of Jesus’ birth and love, but in my crowd of friends, it is also a time of Reindeers, beers, gifts and get-togethers.

Christmas is THE MOST favourite time of the year for me, and however you may celebrate it, I am sure there’s some space for glitter and glamour this coming holiday season.

DSC06081

Me and some girlfriends got dolled up for a Winter Wonderland-themed Christmas party with white dresses and diamond eyes. I thought putting diamonds on my eyes would be difficult, but it really wasn’t a big effort and yet, gave a beautiful and dramatic result.

DSC05995

DSC06006

DSC06017

You should try it! This is how we did it.

THINGS YOU NEED: TWEEZERS

DSC05927

You can use fingers, but tweezers make it easier to put the crystals on to specific points of your face and eyes.
Don’t use tweezers with sharp ends as you will probably hurt yourself. We used flat-ended ones like this which were great for putting and pushing the diamonds in place.

THINGS YOU NEED: CRYSTALS/DIAMANTES

DSC05928

DSC05930

We used individual nail art crystals. I preferred the bigger sizes as it would take a larger effort and longer time to achieve the same look with really tiny crystals. (I also have a little fear that the tiny crystals would drop into my eyes and I would go blind.)

tinycrystals

My friend bought the crystals from a shop at Far East Plaza on the 3rd floor (extreme right side when you exit the escalator), as it was offering 3 packs for price of 2.
She bought these for about $8 per pack.

THINGS YOU NEED: EYELASH GLUE
A good eyelash glue is crucial to keep the diamonds firmly stuck on your eyes. No one wants to talk to a girl at a party who has half-stuck eyelashes and diamonds falling off her face. (What a mess.)

If you’re a eyelash-wearer, you’ll know which brands to use. We used the eye lash glue from DUO in CLEAR… can’t go wrong with DUO! I have used Shu Uemura’s eyelash glue before and I remember it being pretty good as well.

PS: Our diamond eyes lasted all night – Some of my girlfriends even slept with their crystals on and used it for another party the next day. Hardcore much? LOL.

THINGS YOU NEED: PICTURES OTHER PEOPLE HAVE DONE
We looked for pictures that we felt inspired by. Feel free to reference magazines or Google words like “crystal eye makeup” “diamante eye” for looks that you like. If the pictures are too difficult or crazy to replicate, look for something simpler – I am not a model walking down the New York Fashion week runway and so I settled on something more realistic.

colorful diamonds eye make-up-f13321

TIME

DSC05935

If you’re really slow, you might take 20-30 min per eye so set aside a good hour for your pre-party makeup. Since I had the privilege of sitting on a cushy chair sipping champagne while I watched my other girlfriend’s starting struggles, I took about 15 min once I started on my eye.

METHOD
Do your makeup and eyeshadow first.

DSC05933

DSC05934

When dealing with dark coloured eyeshadowed or heavily pigmented colours, I like to put loose powder or talcum powder under my eyes so the colours won’t stain my cheeks and it can be easily swept away.

DSC05945

DSC05946

DSC05954

One by one, add the crystals onto your upper lashline in the shape that you want to create. Feel free to vary colours and sizes of the crystals (which I did).

Note: I added on extra false eyelashes at the end of the crystal-application as I did not want the eyelashes to get in the way of my crystallizing. If you use falsies at the END of your application like mine, don’t forget to leave some space on your upper lashline for it.

DSC05958

DSC05956

I wanted to look like an “ice princess” (I wish!) and so I used a lot of layers of white/silver/blue in my eyeshadow and crystals.

DSC05965

You can build it upwards, or add crystals on the bottom lashline for added drama.
Note: I was worried that having crystals on my bottom lashline would be uncomfortable and could possibly fall off if I smiled too widely (I have pretty big cheeks), and so I didn’t attempt this.

DSC05967

I found it easier to fully complete one eye with my “diamond” look, and then copy the look for my other eye. I think going back and forth between your left eye and right eye might be a good way to keep both eyes balanced, but will also take a lot more time.

Sheenu hosted us and she went first. She took longer than I did but it was worth it… she had really stunning eyes!

DSC05938

DSC05939

DSC05943

DSC05944

Mia’s look:
DSC06014

Dimple’s look:
DSC05988

Sara (left) and Veronika (right):
DSC05970

DSC05975

DSC05976

Sara’s diamond eyes was my favourite. Although she only used the silver crystals, they were a great extension with her eye makeup and it looked like her eyes had beautiful elongated silver wings. She’s amazing with makeup and was constantly helping us with ours. Thanks Sara!

DSC05972

.
.
.
So there you have it – boys like to pimp their rides, but we girls can pimp our eyes.

This beauty process is more helpful and less stressful when you have girlfriends and champagne.
DSC06011

DSC05996

Ready to partayyyy!

Pics from Pangaea Singapore’s Winter Wonderland themed Christmas party:
(Click on pictures to see a bigger version)

DSC06098

DSC06078

DSC06146

Guest DJ for the night: my buddy David Bennett/DJ Bento from Tokyo!

And that is how you celebrate the holidays with a bang.

Who’s Diamante look did you like the best? 🙂

*******

If you try out using crystals/diamonds in your makeup look for the coming holiday season, feel free to leave me a comment below or email me your pictures at loveyouwrongtime@gmail.com ! I’d love to see what you did and how you did it. Happy holidays!

PS: I have a beauty giveaway coming up in one of my soonish posts so stay tuned!

Show Me Some Love

