New things to try this new year: Have a conversation with someone you don’t know.

I know it sounds like a crazy thing to say, but I love strangers and I learn so much from them.

My Mother (she’s more traditional Chinese than my Dad is) always used to tell me not to talk to strangers, but she gave up halfway while I was growing up. I wasn’t out of control, but I was curious. I wondered about the people outside of my country, and wandered about the places far away. I ended up doing both, and talking to many strangers along the way.

As such, I looked the same as other Singaporean girls on the outside, but I’ve always had a different outlook on the inside. I’ve always been a slightly off-beat sort of Singaporean – happy to smile and greet a passing stranger, worrying about the poor, less privileged and people who weren’t related to me, and wanting to help tissue aunties before even taking care of myself. Don’t clap for me yet – I get no accolades for being an odd cocktail of ambitious, driven and yet carefree.

I probably sound like a hippie huh?

I don’t know, I guess I’m ol’ school. In a land of quick feet, live-in maids, touch-screen phones and instant internet, it’s easy to forget that there’s so much more to life than what we are getting used to. I wish we could create more opportunities for Singaporeans to step outside their comfort zone and try something new. Learn something different. Do something special.

Why not start with having a conversation about life with someone you don’t know?

A video by Soul Pancake:
Step 1) Take a seat inside a ball pit;
Step 2) Make a new friend

If you’re bored of life, talking to someone about theirs can give yours a new dimension (this is called inspiration).

Until someone creates a ball pit, you can start with talking to someone on the MRT. But if they don’t want to talk to you, don’t blame me!

**********
DISCLAIMER: Talking to a stranger in a ball pit is only cool if you’re a grown-up. You need to have a certain sense of maturity to understand the meaning of this post and to execute the activity suggested. Do not talk to strangers if they are weird or threatening. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “New things to try this new year: Have a conversation with someone you don’t know.

  1. i totally agree with you! and i love especially strangers who are not from Singapore! Cus everyone in Singapore just talks about the same old stuff like “everything not enough” and “govt” and blah x3. I met awesome people when I travelled Europe, my bf & I chose to book our accommodations on Airbnb in all the cities, where we would actually get to meet and stay with the people living there, interact with them and learn more about everything in their city/country. It was really something that we would have never gotten if we just stayed in hotels, and we met so many strangers who are now friends. 🙂

    • Hi Sarah oh so cool! That’s what I did in Europe too, and I learnt so much and grew so much from the strangers I met throughout my journey. I also stayed with locals in most of the cities, which I booked through Roomorama 🙂

Show Me Some Love

