5 MUST-READ Rules to avoid being LAME during Laneway Festival (Singapore 2013)

DSC07784

iPhone’s autocorrect changed all my friend’s messages about “Laneway” to “Lame way”.

Confusing at first, but then it was just amusing! We promise you it was not; it was also not Rainway. (Pic below from the mud-filled Laneway Festival of 2011).

laneway mud

No mud, no rain, no lame. This was more like ‘most awesome-by-the-way’ Laneway.

DSC07320

lanewaycollage1

DSC07535

DSC07456

DSC07502

I’ll show you why, and even throw in a few tips in this guide on how you can have the most awesome Laneway next year too.

Rule #1
WEAR: VINTAGE VESTS, RIDICULOUS HEADGEAR, REBELLIOUS T-SHIRTS AND COSTUMES.

lanewayfashion

DSC07363

Dress to impress, because indie is in. Although the weather was throwing a bit of a hot temper, many didn’t seem to mind as they took pride in the fashion festivities of this hipster parade.

“I guess we are a little bit underdressed…” I hissed to my party-partner-in-crime. Everyone else was donned in everything from boots to fedoras, and maxi-dresses to full-sleeved outfits.

DSC07406

Feel free to accessorize for music festivals like St Jerome’s Laneway… As long as you don’t glare at me in hot and bothered jealousy when I choose something that keeps me as cool and comfortable as possible!

Rule #2
PLAN AHEAD: TO BRAVE THE WEATHER AND EMBRACE YOUR FAVOURITE MUSICAL ACTS

Umbrellas were not allowed amongst the crowd (I can imagine someone poking me accidentally in the eye) and sunblock was definitely running out. Next year, I’m really going to remind my friends to ammo up with scarfs (good to wrap your head around or sit on), sunblock, sunglasses, and a portable fan.

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 4.55.00 AM

lanewaycollage2

Also, I hate to sound kiasu, but there are queues. Queues for ticket collection, queues for buying beer (drink coupons), queues when you can’t stand it and need to run to the portable toilet, and even queues when you need to find a soft spot to sit.

I had my best friend’s wedding the night before this and so unfortunately, I slept in a bit too long and missed out on a number of musical murmurs. I hope you didn’t!

Big ups to most of the bands who showed great bravado, belting out their best live performances despite our extreme equatorial heat. This year’s top 3 faves from me and my friends were:

1) KINGS OF CONVENIENCE
I wasn’t there for the opening band, but I heard Kings of Convenience made a royal entrance. The band also almost destroyed their drums with passion.

2) YEASAYER
Couldn’t get enough of them. I also couldn’t get a picture of them. 😦

3) KIMBRA… Burst on stage with a strong vocal presence and bright white smile. She had so many fans, and everyone rushed to mosh. We also didn’t quite mind the mish-mash to get that little bit closer to her…

lanewaycollagekimbra

I spy Kimbra – the apple of our eye.

DSC07351

If Snow White was indie, this is how she would be.

With 14 stellar line-ups across 2 side-by-side stages across 12 hours, it was hard for any music-lover to go home a loser. Japandriods, Natasha Khan from Bat For Lashes, Of Monsters and Men, Nicolas Jaar, Tame Impala and Alt-J also kicked major music butt.

A few people said Cloud Nothings was questionable, but I think the intensely eclectic mix of bands – bumping beats from bluesy-electronica to dance-y guitar rock and pop – can throw our emotions around as quickly as a song ends.

lanewaycollage3

DSC07561

DSC07529

DSC07531

DSC07528

DSC07450

lanewaymusic1

I swayed under the stars and stayed for Gotye’s finale, where he teased and treated the tired crowd by bringing on Kimbra for his much-awaited ‘Somebody That I Used to Know’. With other enjoyable performances (I liked ‘Thank You for Your Time’), he proved to be beyond a one-hit wonder.

DSC07632

DSC07628

Rule #3
DRINK: PLENTY OF FIJI WATER

lanewayfijius

DSC07358

If it’s hot, it’s time to hydrate. FIJI Water had 4 stands at Laneway Festival offering up their signature artesian water – a soothing icy perfection for all the sore-throated sunburnt souls.

We clutched onto this like a fashion week favourite.

lanewayyasminfiji

lanewayfijime

I also missed the FIJI Water girls (probably because I was too busy watching Kimbra the Indie hippie Snow White), but they were walking around with photo props and patrons could stand to win autographed Laneway posters.

I did spam he FIJI Water x Laneway Instagram feed though, hoping for a chance at winning something…:)
My Instagram @estellekiora

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 4.53.54 AM

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 4.56.01 AM

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 4.54.35 AM

Rule #4
EAT: AT GARDENS BY THE BAY

Kudos to Chuggs Entertainment for bringing the Laneway Festival to a whole new level this year – Gardens by the Bay was much more spacious, windy, and pretty than Fort Canning could dream to be. Listening to the superheroes of the indie world while ambling around the magical meadows of the Gardens By The Bay, made me feel like I was living an MTV fantasy. It’s such an incredible spot I hope that Chuggs Entertainment will bring in more outdoor events here.

I don’t understand why everyone I was whatsapping or heard from seemed to be griping about going all the way to Marina Bay Sands for food though. The pop-up stalls at Laneway Festival serve sumptuous snacks, and why not take a 5-min SuperTree-by-night lighted stroll down to the gigantic group of food chains that Gardens By The Bay has gathered?

DSC07482

Besides the fancy SuperTree Indochine and Pollen Restaurant, there are plenty of other eateries in the vicinity of the gardens. SUPERTREE DINING is not only a buffet of 5 affordable cuisine choices (these local and international picks ranged from S$5-S$20 dishes), but it was also just a 5 minute walk-break away from the festival grounds.

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 3.56.09 AM

Supertree Dining –
“Admire the beauty of the towering vertical gardens and be mesmerised by the nightly OCBC Garden Rhapsody as you tuck into local and international fare at the Supertree Dining. Be spoilt for choice with noodles from Peach Garden Noodle House, to fast food from Texas Chicken, to Singaporean fare from Hill Street Coffee Shop and Western offerings from Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie and Casa Verde.”

Texas Chicken was the favourite feather of the festival flock. The crowd was craving chicken and I was starving!

DSC07515

Yes, all the outlets have a bunch of seating and is air-conditioned.

It’s definitely cheaper than the cluster of celebrity chef restaurants at MBS too.

Rule #5
CLEAN: YOUR CRAP UP

collagetrash

Seriously, Singapore/Singaporeans! Do I have to tell your mother? Even if you don’t love it, don’t leave it.

Don’t leave a disgusting mess and pick up after yourselves.

DSC07420

DSC07443

DSC07523

DSC07567

DSC07568

Screen Shot 2013-02-13 at 1.44.16 PM

And so, while the old timers told me that Laneway was getting bigger and better, these were my first-time observations at Laneway Festival 2013. Follow my zero-lameness rules for a lovely time at the next Laneway Festival 2014!

**********

PS: If you like live music, support our local live music scene through Singapore’s ONLY live music gig finder – BANDWAGON. This digital find showcases a community of the who’s who in the Singapore live music scene, and which venues you can find them at. Expect some blog and video coverage, and power-packed reviews too. You can have your own little local Laneway in your head via the Bandwagon website, everyday and any day! They reviewed Laneway Festival 2013 on their blog report too. Follow the BANDWAGON Facebook page and Twitter handle for quick updates.

fijihug

This coverage on St Jerome’s Laneway Festival Singapore, 26 Jan 2013, is an advertorial blogpost for the best tasting water in the world, FIJI Water.

2 thoughts on “5 MUST-READ Rules to avoid being LAME during Laneway Festival (Singapore 2013)

    • Hello Nuke, that’s a good question, sorry I don’t know the answer to it though, as my camera is a compact dslr ie it looks like a small compact camera. I think it should be fine, but you’re best to check what is allowed for the public vs media… maybe you can ask the question on their Facebook page? 🙂

Show Me Some Love

